Stranger Danger

panoramic

Ouff.  It has been much too long.  My well intended commitment to blog regularly has hit a speed bump.  A speed bump called working 5 days a week, full-time undergrad study, running a society and the sad semblance of a social life.

*Note: For those non-Canadian readers, pressing the links below will not only change the way you read this blog post, but potentially change your life (a little dramatic, I know, but seriously, click the links).

2 weeks ago, I spent a glorious 24 hours in St. John’s, NL.  I flew in around noon on the 13th, was generously picked up by my high school best friend, Hali, and given an amazing tour of an amazing city.  Despite the wind and the fog, I felt this overwhelming sense of belonging.  I think that’s a pretty typical feeling for most people who visit the Rock, but I could even picturing myself calling that place home (which, in my life, usually means temporarily).  Nonetheless, it was a beautiful time, and an honor to guest speak at the annual NLCSA meeting.

Naturally, I had to lose my George Street virginity.  So this is Hali (left) and I (right) descending in the elevator at the Sheraton, pre-George Street.  (We’re all really fortunate there isn’t documentation of post-George street in the form of pictures).

hali

We’re scaling one of the many sets of stairs leading to George Street. In heels. In February. In Newfoundland. When I turn the corner, I’m met with this beauty.

GeorgeStreet

Greensleeves was the chosen place, and we were highly entertained by a one man band, Damian Follett. Seriously, check him out.

And now I’m back to the mainland. Back to midterms, bubble sheets and term papers.  Sigh.  Better moments to come!

Cheers,

Allie

2 thoughts on “Stranger Danger

Leave a Reply

