Jumpstarting January

I debated writing this post, which is a sad confession, but decided to give it a shot.  Though the intention of this blog is to be Au Pair specific, it’s obviously a dry time.  My interview is in 8 days, and only then does the fun begin.  Regardless, I still have a wide array of witty-to-me things to say.

I survived 2012 .. both the Mayan’s predicted end-of-the-world catastrophe and life in general.  2012 was my first full calendar year in Canada since 2008, and if everything goes according to plan, it’ll be my last until at least 2015.  In a nut shell, this is what I’m thankful to have had in 2012:

1. My family, primarily.  For putting a roof over my head between adventures, supporting my flighty nature, and dealing with the adhd impulse decisions, thoughts and comments.  I know there are many.

2. My friends.  I won’t admit to being the most stable, social companion, but there are a few very special people who have stuck around anyway.  What troopers.

3. Me. I tend to give myself a hard time.  I expect a little too much, disappoint myself a little too often, and judge myself a little too harshly, but I only get one shot at this, and I think I’m doing a pretty damn good job.

No resolution this year. To be honest, I don’t remember the last time I had one.  Eat less, save more, stop smoking, start socializing.  Sounds like a lot of pressure, really.  My only resolution is to make this year better than the last. To learn more, see more and be more.  (This sounds a little more Hallmarkesque than I’m comfortable with, so I’ll finish with that).

Here’s to 2013: 365 blank pages full of blog worthy successes, failures and adventures.

Cheers,

Allie

“If plan “A” fails — remember you have 25 letters left.” – Chris GuillebeauImage

Leave a Reply

