Application Anxiety

Having some serious deja vu filling out the Au Pair application form. I definitely remember being more anxious the first time. Guess that’s a result of now knowing what to expect. On second thought, maybe I should be MORE anxious now that I know what I’m getting myself into. Hmm.

By far my question of the entire 26 page application form: What are some of your worst qualities? Good lord. How can I answer this without making them feel as though a) I’d be impossible to shack up with and b) I’d be the worst Au Pair ever.

I know MOST people would answer this question with “I’m TOO prompt” or “I work TOO hard” or “I am such a perfectionist that I do everything TOO well the first time”. Pa-lease. You go to bed some nights without brushing your teeth and spend your days off watching re-runs and eating doritos. I’m on to you. A professor of mine once told me to ask this question on a first date, and if the person answers with one of the “I’m TOO awesome” responses above or the like, kick them to the curb. I like that.
I hate cooking. That’s an understatement. It is the vain of my existence  I’m terrible at it, and if it takes less than 5 minutes in the microwave, it ain’t happenin’. I can whip up a mean grilled cheese once out of every 5 times I try to make it. That deserves a medal in my book. Would telling a potential host family that I’d rather eat the sofa cushion than follow a recipe make me an unworthy candidate?

Moving on. My second favorite question has to be: What don’t you enjoy about working with children? My least favorite thing is the time period between when they wake up and when they go to sleep. That’s a joke. Again, my predicament being that I must answer this without making them feel a) or b), but I don’t want potential host families under the impression that I’m a Canadian Mary Poppins.

Countdown to my interview: 13 days! Then the magic begins. Hopefully my minimum one hour per day teaching myself Dutch (which has yet to extend past my sad attempts at pronouncing the letter “g”) will score me some brownie points skyping with potential HFs!
Cheers,
Allie

keep calm

2 thoughts on “Application Anxiety

  1. Hey thanks for checking out my blog (Mr. Oh So Wrong)! I have some horror stories about “bad parents” ugh so cringe worthy! I’ll be reading reading your blog, good luck!

    • Anytime! I look forward to reading more! Thanks for checking out Aupairody. Feel free to comment on any posts .. I’d love to have feedback from au pairs/nannies.
      – Allie

Leave a Reply

